Boek cover The Illusionist Brain van Jordi Camí (Onbekend)

The Illusionist Brain

The Neuroscience of Magic

Engels | E-book | 9780691239156
Onbekend 30,51
nog geen rating
uitgever Princeton University Press
Taal Engels
Bindwijze E-book
Ebook formaat Adobe ePub
Illustraties Met illustraties
Auteur(s) Jordi Camí | Luis M. Martinez
Uitgever Princeton University Press
Lees dit ebook op Desktop (Mac en Windows) | Kobo e-reader | Android (smartphone en tablet) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet)
Studieboek Nee

Boekbeschrijving

How magicians exploit the natural functioning of our brains to astonish and amaze us

How do magicians make us see the impossible? The Illusionist Brain takes you on an unforgettable journey through the inner workings of the human mind, revealing how magicians achieve their spectacular and seemingly impossible effects by interfering with your cognitive processes. Along the way, this lively and informative book provides a guided tour of modern neuroscience, using magic as a lens for understanding the unconscious and automatic functioning of our brains.

We construct reality from the information stored in our memories and received through our senses, and our brains are remarkably adept at tricking us into believing that our experience is continuous. In fact, our minds create our perception of reality by elaborating meanings and continuities from incomplete information, and while this strategy carries clear benefits for survival, it comes with blind spots that magicians know how to exploit. Jordi Camí and Luis Martínez explore the many different ways illusionists manipulate our attention—making us look but not see—and take advantage of our individual predispositions and fragile memories.

The Illusionist Brain draws on the latest findings in neuroscience to explain how magic deceives us, surprises us, and amazes us, and demonstrates how illusionists skillfully “hack” our brains to alter how we perceive things and influence what we imagine.

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover Born of Illusion van Teri Brown
For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life...
›› meer info
2 op 5 sterren
Boek cover The Brain Snatcher van Pere Estupinya
Sharing the scientific knowledge of the world's most brilliant minds
A eureka-inspiring book that will change your view of the world as you know it. In this compilation of the biggest scientific discoveries of the...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Wonder of the Brain van Gopi Krishna
The current state of confusion about the real nature of spiritual experience is due to a lack of understanding of how the brain functions as a...
›› meer info
Boek cover Are You an Illusion? van Mary Midgley
In Are You an Illusion? today’s scientific orthodoxy, which treats the self as nothing more than an elaborate illusion, comes under spirited...
›› meer info
Boek cover Brain-Mind van Paul Thagard
From Neurons to Consciousness and Creativity (Treatise on Mind and Society)
How do brains make minds? Paul Thagard presents a unified, brain-based theory of cognition and emotion with applications to the most complex kinds...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Brain from Inside Out van György Buzsáki, MD, PhD
Is there a right way to study how the brain works? Following the empiricist's tradition, the most common approach involves the study of neural...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Self-Assembling Brain van Peter Robin Hiesinger
How Neural Networks Grow Smarter
What neurobiology and artificial intelligence tell us about how the brain builds itself How does a neural network become a brain? While...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Matrixial Brain van Paul Chaplin
Experiments in Reality
Matrixial Logic: Forms of Inequality provided a revolutionary new analysis of how we actually think. How the logic of reality and the logic of the...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Deceptive Brain van Robert L. Taylor
Blame, Punishment, and the Illusion of Choice
Preposterous as it sounds, we are not who we seem to be. Not even close. At the heart of this misperception is our deep-seated conviction of free...
›› meer info
Boek cover Break Through the Limits of the Brain van Joseph Selbie
Neuroscience, Inspiration, and Practices to Transform Your Life
“A user’s manual for superheroes. Joseph Selbie’s well-written trifecta provides (1) an inspiring collection of stories about real-life super...
›› meer info