Boek cover The Shame Machine van Cathy ONeil

The Shame Machine

Who Profits in the New Age of Humiliation

10,99
nog geen rating
uitgever Crown
Taal Engels
Bindwijze E-book
Ebook formaat Adobe ePub
Illustraties Nee
Auteur(s) Cathy O'Neil
Uitgever Crown
Lees dit ebook op Desktop (Mac en Windows) | Kobo e-reader | Android (smartphone en tablet) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet)
Studieboek Nee

Boekbeschrijving

NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • A clear-eyed warning about the increasingly destructive influence of America’s “shame industrial complex” in the age of social media and hyperpartisan politics—from the New York Times bestselling author of Weapons of Math Destruction

“O’Neil reminds us that we must resist the urge to judge, belittle, and oversimplify, and instead allow always for complexity and lead always with empathy.”—Dave Eggers, author of The Every

Shame is a powerful and sometimes useful tool: When we publicly shame corrupt politicians, abusive celebrities, or predatory corporations, we reinforce values of fairness and justice. But as Cathy O’Neil argues in this revelatory book, shaming has taken a new and dangerous turn. It is increasingly being weaponized—used as a way to shift responsibility for social problems from institutions to individuals. Shaming children for not being able to afford school lunches or adults for not being able to find work lets us off the hook as a society. After all, why pay higher taxes to fund programs for people who are fundamentally unworthy?

O’Neil explores the machinery behind all this shame, showing how governments, corporations, and the healthcare system capitalize on it. There are damning stories of rehab clinics, reentry programs, drug and diet companies, and social media platforms—all of which profit from “punching down” on the vulnerable. Woven throughout The Shame Machine is the story of O’Neil’s own struggle with body image and her recent weight-loss surgery, which awakened her to the systematic shaming of fat people seeking medical care.

With clarity and nuance, O’Neil dissects the relationship between shame and power. Whom does the system serve? Is it counter-productive to call out racists, misogynists, and vaccine skeptics? If so, when should someone be “canceled”? How do current incentive structures perpetuate the shaming cycle? And, most important, how can we all fight back?

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover Against the Machine van Lee Siegel
Being Human in the Age of the Electronic Mob
From the author hailed by the New York Times Book Review for his “drive-by brilliance” and dubbed by the New York Times Magazine as “one of...
›› meer info
Boek cover Broken Machines van Michael I. Leahey
Broken Machines is a gritty mystery in the tradition of Robert Parker and Elmore Leonard. James Joseph Donovan stares out his own window, watching...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Machine van Upton Sinclair
Three-act play, first published in 1911. According to Wikipedia: "Upton Beall Sinclair, Jr. (1878 - 1968), was a prolific American author who wrote...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Forgetting Machine van Pete Hautman
People all over Flinkwater are losing their memories—and it’s up to Ginger to figure out what’s going on—in this sequel to the “quirky,...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Machine van Alphonso Ashworth
Who's Counting Your Vote?
The good news; We did rebuild after 9/11/2001. People did pickup the shattered pieces and carried on with their lives, but the "Winds of Discontent"...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Epiphany Machine van David Burr Gerrard
*Best New Science Fiction for Summer by The Washington Post *A Most-Anticipated book of 2017 by The Millions Everyone else knows the truth about...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Machine van Blaze Ward
Special Agent Eva Kiesler gave up Hollywood fame to battle the Nazis with the assistance of Dr. Slate, a living clone of N. Telsa. Now, British...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Crying Machine van Greg Chivers
A sharp, lyrical thriller of power, religion, and artificial intelligence. The world has changed, but Jerusalem endures. Overlooked by new...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Hype Machine van Sinan Aral
How Social Media Disrupts Our Elections, Our Economy, and Our Health--and How We Must Adapt
A landmark insider’s tour of how social media affects our decision-making and shapes our world in ways both useful and dangerous, with critical...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Infernal Machine van C. W. Snyder
A Weird and Wonderful Occult Fantasy
Fans of Jay Kristoff will devour Snyder’s strange, dark, and fantastical world. “It brings to mind Salvador Dali's The Persistence of Memory....
›› meer info