Boek cover Against White Feminism van Rafia Zakaria (Hardcover)

Against White Feminism

Engels | Druk: 1 | Hardcover | 9780241446096
Hardcover 17,99
nog geen rating
uitgever Penguin Books Ltd
Taal Engels
Bindwijze Hardcover
Afmetingen Afmeting: 22,2 x 14,2 x 2,2 cm
Aantal paginas 208 pagina's
Illustraties Nee
Auteur(s) Rafia Zakaria
Uitgever Penguin Books Ltd
Gewicht 327 g
Studieboek Nee
Verpakking breedte 142 mm
Verpakking hoogte 22 mm
Verpakking lengte 222 mm

Boekbeschrijving

An essential, comprehensive account of what white feminism is, and an empowering manifesto for revolution For readers of Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race, Caroline Criado Perez's Invisible Women and Florence Given's Women Don't Owe You Pretty 'Make room beside Audre Lorde and Angela Davis on your shelves' Chicago Review of Books 'A book to make you stop and think' Mishal Husain, national broadcaster 'Necessary, warm-hearted and sharp-eyed... This book is going to light fires everywhere, so if you are prone to combust, get right the hell out of the way' Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Feminism is supposed to be the fight for the freedom and equality of women. And in the past 200 years it has made incredible gains: paving the way for women to advance economically, handing them back control of their own bodies, and advocating for their needs and their experiences. But not for all women. Since its very beginning, mainstream feminism has catered to a particular group of women: middle class, cis-gendered, Western, and above all, white. And the exclusion of everyone outside this narrow category is not merely an oversight, a coincidence, a slip. It is baked into the way feminism works. This must change. White supremacy is killing feminism. Until all of us are free and equal in society, none of us are. The power to transform it lies with each one of us. It starts with understanding how we got here in the first place. Eye-opening, timely and impossible to ignore, Against White Feminism traces the connections between feminism and white supremacy from the earliest stirrings of the women's suffrage movement to the 'fourth wave' we see today, demonstrating how an idea based on equality has been corrupted by prejudice and exploitation from the start. Rafia Zakaria issues a powerful call to arms to every reader to build a new kind of feminism which will light the path to true emancipation for all.

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover Feminism for Beginners van Susan Watkins
What one half of the human race wants and the other half dreads - women's absolute equality! Is this a fair view of feminism? For some, the word ...
›› meer info
Boek cover Inclusive Feminism van Naomi Zack
A Third Wave Theory of Women's Commonality
Second Wave feminism collapsed in the early 1980s when a universal definition of women was abandoned. At the same time, as a reaction to the...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Death Of Feminism van PH D Phyllis Chesler
What's Next In The Struggle For Women's Freedom
Feminist icon and political activist Phyllis Chesler, author of the 2.5-million copy bestseller Women and Madness and the controversial The New...
›› meer info
Boek cover Righting Feminism van Ronnee Schreiber
Conservative Women and American Politics
When we think of women's activism in America, figures such as Gloria Steinem and Betty Friedan invariably come to mind-those liberal doyennes who...
›› meer info
Boek cover Exposing Feminism van Swayne OPie
The Thirty Years' War Against Men
PLEASE NOTE: The content of this book differs from the content of 'Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism' (which is solely on sale in the United...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Little Book of Feminism van Harriet Dyer
"First-Wave feminism is generally seen as the rise of feminism in the West. The term refers to the organised activities and campaigns for new rights...
›› meer info
Boek cover White Feminism van Koa Beck
'Koa Beck writes with passion and insight about the knotted history of racism within women's movements and feminist culture, past and present....
›› meer info
Boek cover White Feminism van Koa Beck
'Koa Beck writes with passion and insight about the knotted history of racism within women's movements and feminist culture, past and present....
›› meer info
Engels | Paperback | 9780525560562
Boek cover Hood Feminism van Mikki Kendall (Paperback)
Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER One of the most important books of the current moment. -Time A rousing call to action... It should be...
›› meer info
Boek cover Antagonizing White Feminism van
Intersectionality's Critique of Women's Studies and the Academy
Antagonizing White Feminism: Intersectionality's Critique of Women's Studies and the Academy pushes back against the exclusive scholarship and...
›› meer info