Boek cover InHERent van Lucia Orellana Damacela

InHERent

5,99
nog geen rating
uitgever Fly On The Wall Poetry
Taal Engels
Bindwijze E-book
Ebook formaat -72234
Uitgever Fly On The Wall Poetry
Lees dit ebook op Android (smartphone en tablet) | Kobo e-reader | Overige e-reader | Desktop (Mac en Windows) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet)
Dit boek staat in

Boekbeschrijving

"Inherent by Lucía Orellana-Damacela are "mementos" bottled in the past so they don't get staled in the present. Moments inherited from matrilineal sequence, splashed with a few words in Spanish, the mother tongue, transmuting into an English language unfolding in surprising juxtapositions, which erode the feeling of strangeness and instill a sense of belonging.

What is sought, is the inevitable tracing of an "embroidered past" embedded in remembrances from Ecuador, recipes and scents which are passed down to daughters, through objects or physical traits, such as a white tea set, an eyebrow, or the intrusion of an illness resonating in the light lingering after a storm in a distant part of the world.

Fragments of a narrative, these poems speculate as they reflect an interiority grounded in the landscape of childhood and extending towards the future, knowing that blooming and rotting are processes inherent in every creation. "

  • Lila Zemborain, Poet and NYU Clinical Professor

"Lucía Orellana Damacela's Inherent is a brilliant poetic excavation of life as a Latinoamerican. Her evocative lyricism perfectly dramatizes the longing of family and ancestral ties, moving back and forth between memory and the everyday, and mirroring theleaps and bounds made between the pain of cultural displacement and the promise of a better life. With tremendous dexterity, these poems express the fears of living a step away from tradition and the great comfort of family."

  • Gessy Alvarez, Digging Press

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover Insperatus van Kelly Varesio
England, 1843: Twenty-year-old Rein Pierson embarks on a voyage to America to escape a past she is desperately trying to forget. She boards a massive...
›› meer info
Boek cover Swithering van Robin Robertson
WINNER OF THE 2006 FORWARD PRIZE In Scots, the verb 'swither' has two meanings: to be doubtful, to waver, to be in two minds; and to appear in...
›› meer info
Boek cover Dungeness van Karen Polinsky
Spanning the latter half of the nineteenth century, this coming-of-age novel unfolds in the form of a historian's notebook. Protagonist and narrator...
›› meer info
Boek cover Scintillant van Aliona Ciumac
Volume One
A Soul is seeking answers pertaining to her first life, in the prison world we know as Earth, first born year 439 in the Ottoman Empire. Now living...
›› meer info
Boek cover Decadent van Alexx Andria
A Scorching Hot Romance
"I knew I would learn how you taste, how you feel, how you climax so sweetly…but I couldn't have known how quickly I would come to crave all of...
›› meer info
Boek cover UnWanted van Jack Trevino
On the run from the law and chased into the desert, a divergent group of misfits stumble upon a hidden cave. Inside, they encounter the Indian...
›› meer info
Boek cover Rosarium van Hannah Dow
Poems
Hannah Dow's debut poetry collection, Rosarium, is a series of beautiful interrogations. In precise, luminous language, Dow engages the mysteries of...
›› meer info
Boek cover Ancestral van Alyce Black
When Roland discovers the monstrous secret at the root of his family tree, he must make a choice: embrace his fate, and lose the man he loves. Or...
›› meer info
Boek cover Entwined van A. J. Rosen
An epic story of romance, drama and mythology, for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Oh My Gods. For Avery Montgomery, the descendent of a...
›› meer info
Boek cover Sultry van Randy Bentinck
Attraction should never be underrated. Lest it gradually loses its delightful adventure, lustre, charm, and ethereal magic. We should constantly...
›› meer info