Boek cover The Volunteer van Jack Fairweather

The Volunteer

The True Story of the Resistance Hero who Infiltrated Auschwitz – Costa Book of the Year 2019

9,49
nog geen rating
uitgever Virgin Digital
Taal Engels
Bindwijze E-book
Ebook formaat Adobe ePub
Illustraties Nee
Co-auteur Jack Fairweather
Uitgever Virgin Digital
Lees dit ebook op Desktop (Mac en Windows) | Kobo e-reader | Android (smartphone en tablet) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet) | Overige e-reader

Boekbeschrijving

'Totally gripping'-- Simon Sebag Montefiore


"Pilecki is perhaps one of the greatest unsung heroes of the second world war ... this insightful book is likely to be the definitive version of this extraordinary life' -- Economist


Would you sacrifice yourself to save thousands of others?


In the Summer of 1940, after the Nazi occupation of Poland, an underground operative called Witold Pilecki accepted a mission to uncover the fate of thousands of people being interned at a new concentration camp on the border of the Reich.


His mission was to report on Nazi crimes and raise a secret army to stage an uprising. The name of the detention centre -- Auschwitz.


It was only after arriving at the camp that he started to discover the Nazi's terrifying plans. Over the next two and half years, Witold forged an underground army that smuggled evidence of Nazi atrocities out of Auschwitz. His reports from the camp were to shape the Allies response to the Holocaust - yet his story was all but forgotten for decades.


This is the first major account to draw on unpublished family papers, newly released archival documents and exclusive interviews with surviving resistance fighters to show how he brought the fight to the Nazis at the heart of their evil designs.


The result is an enthralling story of resistance and heroism against the most horrific circumstances, and one man's attempt to change the course of history.

Gelijkaardige boeken

Nederlands | Druk: Heruitgave | E-book | 9789023442998
4.3 op 5 sterren
Boek cover Een verhaal van liefde en duisternis van Amos Oz (Onbekend)
Amos Oz groeide op als enig kind van een afstandelijke, rationele vader en een romantische, depressieve moeder, in een kleine, volgepakte woning,...
›› meer info
Boek cover Reflexive Ethnography van Charlotte Aull Davies
A Guide to Researching Selves and Others
Ethnographic research is fundamental to the discipline of anthropology. However, contemporary debate on themes such as modernism/postmodernism,...
›› meer info
3 op 5 sterren
Boek cover The Blazing World van Siri Hustvedt
Genomineerd voor de Man Booker Prize 2014
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2014 The artist Harriet Burden, furious at the lack of attention paid her by the New York art world, conducts an...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Mother-in-Law van Sally Hepworth
everyone in this family is hiding something
An Amazon Chart NUMBER ONE bestseller 'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author 'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES'...
›› meer info
Nederlands | Druk: 1 | E-book | 9789048841790
4.6 op 5 sterren
Boek cover t Hooge Nest van Roxane van Iperen (Onbekend)
'Wanneer er gevochten moet worden, moet er maar gevochten worden. Je kunt jezelf niet ontrouw worden. Je kunt jezelf ook niets wijsmaken. We stonden...
›› meer info
Engels | E-book | 9781405293846
4.5 op 5 sterren
Boek cover A Good Girls Guide to Murder van Holly Jackson (Onbekend)
The New York Times No.1 bestselling YA crime thriller that everyone is talking about! THE WINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARD'S CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Body van Bill Bryson
A Guide for Occupants
THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER: SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 ROYAL SOCIETY INSIGHT INVESTMENT SCIENCE BOOK PRIZE _______ 'A directory of...
›› meer info
Nederlands | Druk: 1 | E-book | 9789402759433
3.7 op 5 sterren
Boek cover Winterland van Kim Faber (Onbekend)
'Deze loeispannende thriller is de misdaadroman van het jaar.' - ●●●● NRC Door een professionele misstap wordt inspecteur Martin Juncker uit...
›› meer info
Nederlands | Druk: 1 | E-book | 9789026350771
4.6 op 5 sterren
Boek cover Viktor van Judith Fanto (Onbekend)
Viktor is het debuut van Judith Fanto. Viktor is een hartveroverende roman, gebaseerd op de lotgevallen van de Weens-Joodse familie van Fanto. Viktor...
›› meer info
Boek cover Escape From Hell van
The True Story of the Auschwitz Protocol
''Alfred Wetzler was a true hero. His escape from Auschwitz, and the report he helped compile, telling for the first time the truth about the camp as...
›› meer info