Boek cover The Book Thieves van Anders Rydell

The Book Thieves

The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

16,69
nog geen rating
uitgever Prentice Hall Press
Taal Engels
Bindwijze Paperback
Afmetingen Afmeting: 21,5 x 13,9 x 2,2 cm
Aantal paginas 368 pagina's
Illustraties Nee
Auteur(s) Anders Rydell | Anders Rydell
Uitgever Prentice Hall Press
Extra groot lettertype Nee
Gewicht 154 g
Studieboek Ja
Verpakking breedte 140 mm
Verpakking hoogte 214 mm
Verpakking lengte 214 mm

Boekbeschrijving



''A most valuable book.'' -Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves-Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe's libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin's public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.


For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves-Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe's libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin's public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover The Holocaust and the Book van
Destruction and Preservation
Between 1933 and 1945, Nazi Germany systematically destroyed an estimated 100 million books throughout occupied Europe, an act that was inextricably...
›› meer info
Boek cover Chronicle of a Downfall van Leopold Schwarzschild
Germany 1929-1939
Few figures of interwar Germany were as influential as Leopold Schwarzschild, the brilliant editor of the liberal magazine 'Das Tage-Buch'. In the...
›› meer info
Boek cover Exodus van Deborah Dwork
joden op de vlucht uit het Derde Rijk
Een aangrijpend boek over de Holocaust, de Endlösung en de Jodenvervolging in het Derde Rijk. Auteurs Robert Jan van Pelt en Debórah Dwork schetsen...
›› meer info
Boek cover A Most Dangerous Book van Christopher B. Krebs
Tacitus's Germania from the Roman Empire to the Third Reich
When the Roman historian Tacitus wrote the Germania, a none-too-flattering little book about the ancient Germans, he could not have foreseen that...
›› meer info
4.7 op 5 sterren
Boek cover The Lost van Daniel Mendelsohn
The Search for Six of Six Million
A New York Times Notable Book &; Winner of the National Jewish Book Award &; Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award &; A Los Angeles Times...
›› meer info
Engels | Druk: 1 | Hardcover | 9780827612082
Boek cover Stolen Words van Rabbi Mark Glickman (Hardcover)
The Nazi Plunder of Jewish Books
Stolen Words is an epic story about the largest collection of Jewish books in the world-tens of millions of books that the Nazis looted from European...
›› meer info
5 op 5 sterren
Boek cover De grote boekenroof van Anders Rydell
een zoektocht naar Europa's verdwenen bibliotheken
In 'De grote boekenroof' vertelt Anders Rydell het onbekende verhaal van een grootschalige plundercampagne van bibliotheken en privécollecties door...
›› meer info
Boek cover Zweites Buch (Secret Book) van Adolf Hitler
Adolf Hitler's Sequel to Mein Kamph
Zweites Buch is an unedited transcript of Adolf Hitler's thoughts on foreign policy written in 1928, it was written after Mein Kampf and was not...
›› meer info
Engels | Hardcover | 9781479833955
Boek cover Mortuary of Books, A van Elisabeth Gallas (Hardcover)
The Rescue of Jewish Culture after the Holocaust
The astonishing story of the efforts of scholars and activists to rescue Jewish cultural treasures after the Holocaust In March 1946 the American...
›› meer info
Boek cover The Black Book van Sybil Oldfield
The Britons on the Nazi Hitlist
'Thoroughly researched and fascinating' Observer 'Wondrous ... a formidable piece of scholarship' Bookanista In 1939, the Gestapo created a list...
›› meer info