Boek cover From Harvey River van Lorna Goodison

From Harvey River

A Memoir of My Mother and Her Island

8,99
nog geen rating
uitgever Amistad
Taal Engels
Bindwijze E-book
Ebook formaat Adobe ePub
Illustraties Nee
Uitgever Amistad
Lees dit ebook op Android (smartphone en tablet) | Kobo e-reader | Desktop (Mac en Windows) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet) | Overige e-reader

Boekbeschrijving

''Throughout her life my mother [Doris] lived in two places at once: Kingston, Jamaica, where she raised a family of nine children, and Harvey River, in the parish of Hanover, where she was born and grew up.''


In the tradition of Michael Ondaatje's Running in the Family and Carlos Eire's Waiting for Snow in Havana comes Lorna Goodison's luminous memoir of her forebears—From Harvey River. When Doris' English grandfather, William Harvey, discovers a clearing at the end of a path cut by the feet of those running from slavery, he gives his name to what will become his family's home for generations. For Doris, Harvey River is the place she always called home, the place where she was one of the ''fabulous Harvey girls'' and where the rich local bounty of the land went hand in hand with the Victorian niceties and comforts of her parents' house. It is a place she will return to in dreams when her fortunes change, years later, and she and her husband, Marcus Goodison, relocate to ''hard life'' Kingston and encounter the harsh realities of urban living in close quarters as they raise their family of nine children.


In lush prose, Lorna Goodison weaves memory and island lore to create a vivid, universally appealing tapestry.

Gelijkaardige boeken

Boek cover Across the River van Ellen Johnson
Across the River presents the lovingly detailed memoir of author Ellen Johnson's mother, Ann Reynalds. Johnson chronicles the trials and tribulations...
›› meer info
Boek cover A River in the Sky van Elizabeth Peters
Having brought Egypt firmly under her thumb, Amelia Peabody turns her attention to a harder challenge: Palestine, a province of the crumbling,...
›› meer info
Boek cover River Road van Jayne Ann Krentz
From the New York Times-bestselling author of Dream Eyes and Copper Beach, a brand-new quintessential Jayne Ann Krentz romance. It's been thirteen...
›› meer info
Boek cover At the Rivers Edge van Mariah Stewart
The Chesapeake Diaries
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Mariah Stewart returns to her beloved Chesapeake Diaries with this charming novel of small-town romance—perfect for...
›› meer info
Boek cover By the River van Steven Herrick
HONOUR BOOK: CBCA Book of the Year, Older Readers, 2005 The big river rolls past our town, takes a slow look and rolls away. Life for Harry means...
›› meer info
Boek cover After River van Donna Milner
A Novel
Growing up on a dairy farm in the mountains of British Columbia in the 1960s, three kilometres north of the American border, Natalie Ward knew little...
›› meer info
Engels | E-book | 9780553903737
Boek cover Wolf River van Jill Gregory (Onbekend)
A Novel
New York City children's author Erinn Winters is haunted by a past no one knows, and dark visions of death and danger that come to her without...
›› meer info
Boek cover Along a River van Jan Noel
The First French-Canadian Women
French-Canadian explorers, traders, and soldiers feature prominently in this country's storytelling, but little has been written about their female...
›› meer info
Boek cover Across the River van Megan Easley-Walsh
For her, he'd go to the ends of the earth. When she disappears, he might have to. In the English countryside in 1774, Caleb Haroldson and Rebecca...
›› meer info
Boek cover On the River van Pk Corey
A Cassie's Family Story
Cassie and Tom Duff live at The Landing, a beautiful neighborhood by the river in their little town in North Carolina. They’re surrounded by their...
›› meer info